Advice for getting the WFRP tone right for scenarios?

For general discussions about WFRP
TomPleasant

I think it’s safe to assume we all know a WFRP scenario from a D&D one when we see it. WFRP, especially 1st Ed, has a certain tone and humour.

Has anyone ever written any advice for creating WFRP scenarios that will hit that tone? I’m a GM veteran and absolutely know how to write scenarios in general, but was wondering whether anyone had compiled a list of common WFRP tropes, or something similar.

Yes, I can reread all the old published scenarios again to refresh my inspiration, but a reference document would be really helpful!

If not, advice is gratefully appreciated.
Last edited by TomPleasant on Sat Sep 18, 2021 10:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Orin J.

the most important thing is that the setting is mud'n'blood, with a healthy dollop of college student humor about historical and fantasy tropes. if you get TOO serious you need to inject some stupid humor into what's going on, be it a character or foot chace for a small pet dog with a deadly maguffin in their mouth while the fat lady that owns it shrieks ar you to be gentle.

the next is that the players aren't supposed to BE big time heroes. they're the little guys, saving the world in the cracks.

and finally, if your pressed for a session, making everyone get dragged through something stupid because of one player's personal progress is always a fun way to put everyone at each other's throats in a friendly way.
[note: none of my advice should be trusted. ever. any comment i make is for my own amusement and the advice should be assumed suspect no matter how good it looks on paper]
Wyrmslayer

Something comes to mind but can't remember who was explaining it, is the perspective. How the WFB and WFRP both engage with the same world, but where WFB has a top down view of the setting, dealing with the powerful characters that can sway battles. WFRP has a bottom up view. From the gutter.