Rules - Shield use

The enemy lurks in shadows
Cardboardant

So, I have been playing 4ed for over 6 months now and (more than any edition previous - been playing for 20 years) I am struggling to get a handle on all the RAW.

Shield use is the current bugbear.

Shields have Shield and Defensive.
Are either of these 'passive'?

The wording on defensive suggests that you benefit from just holding the shield:
"If you are weilding such a weapon, gain a bonus of +1 SL to any melee test when you oppose an incoming attack"
So is this passive?

The wording on Shield suugests that the shield must be used to oppose the attack directly:
"If you use this weapon to oppose an incoming attack, you count as having (rating) Armour Points..."
So, this is active?

So, Clem Shirestock has a sword and shield.
He is attacked by a goblin and uses the sword to defend himself - he gains the shield's defensive quality and rolls with a +1SL bonus.
Next round he is attacked again, this time he wants the extra armour so he rolls with a -20 penatly but with +1SL (-20 for off hand, +1SL defensive) but receives +2 armour.

Is Clem correct?

Cheers to everyone that helps me navigate this edition - it really hurts my head with all the fiddlyness...
Shambler

Edit: just saw that I misremembered your post. So ignore the text I wrote and replace it with "Yes, I think that's how it works"."and the continue with the link and my last phrase. ;)

I think it's the other way around: you always get the +1 SL when defending while having a shield even if you're technically defending with the handweapon in your hand.

To use the shield rating, you have to actively defend with the shield (and thus maybe getting -20 for offhand use if you don't use Melee parry).

Here's the cubicle 7 article I am getting this from:

https://www.cubicle7games.com/wfrp-in-d ... f-defence/

But English is not my mother tongue so who knows if I understood correctly.
legion